:man| Alphabetical   Categories   About us 
KCON (1) | General commands | Unix Manual Pages | :man


kcon - pcvt keyboard control and remapping


See Also


kcon [-d delay] [-l] [-m map] [-o] [-p] [-R] [-r rate] [-s] [-t+/-] [-x]


The kcon utility is used for controlling all aspects of keyboard configuration for the ’pcvt’ video driver.

The available options are:

-d delay
Specifies the delay after which the last key entered will be repeated by the Keyboard. Valid values are 0..3 corresponding to delays of 250, 500, 750 and 1000 milliseconds.
-l Displays the current keyboard map in use by the driver.
-m map Specifies the map entry to be searched in the keyboard capabilities database keycap. The database is searched for the entry and if found, the mapping is loaded and is used in the driver from then on.
-o Switches display of control codes to octal in the listing of the current map. To be used in conjunction with the -l option.
-p Uses ’pure’ output when listing - the Escape character is displayed in either octal or hexadecimal and not as ’ESC’. To be used in conjunction with the -l option.
-r rate
Specifies the character repetition rate. Valid argument values are 0...31 corresponding to rates of 30 characters/second ... 2 characters/second.
-R Reset the Keyboard.
-s Displays the current settings of the rate and delay values.
-t +/- Specify this option to enable (+) or disable (-) the repetition of keys.
-x Switches display of control codes to hexadecimal in the listing of the current map. To be used in conjunction with the -l option. This is the default behaviour.


Keyboard capabilities data base file if nothing else was chosen during installation.
/dev/console Keyboard raw device.


The command "kcon -m gb" loads the entry ’gb’ from the keycap file into the keyboard to switch to a british keyboard behaviour.

The command "kcon -r 0 -d 0" switches the keyboard to emit characters at a rate of 30 characters per second after a key has been held down for 250 milliseconds.


keycap(3), keycap(5)


Created by Blin Media, 2008-2013